144 citations issued in Kentucky since texting ban
It has now been a year since Kentucky banned texting while driving, and a recent report shows that 144 citations have been issued since the beginning of the year to texting drivers.
Although the law came into effect in July 2010, police officers only gave out warnings for the first six months. While some may see the glass half empty as the number of citations seems low for a growing problematic, Lieutenant David Jude of the Kentucky State Police offers a more positive perspective.
“This might sound like a small number but when you break it down it shows you that this law is really being enforced across the state,” he said. ”Emailing, texting and two way communication are prohibited within the law. However, proving that someone is doing one of those three is the hardest part.”
For Boone County Sheriff’s spokesman Tom Scheben, it is quite easy to spot someone texting while driving.
“Following somebody who’s texting is often like following somebody who’s under the influence because they’re not paying attention,” he said.
Fines for texting while driving in the state of Kentucky are $25 for a first time offender and $50 for any subsequent infraction, plus court costs.
Source: WYMT, July 5, 2011