Nevada bans texting while driving
Unless Gov. Brian Sandoval decides against it, Nevada will become the latest state to ban texting while driving.
Under SB 140, the state would prohibit text messaging and using handheld cell phones while driving in Nevada. The original bill had high fines: $250 for a first offense, $500 for a second offense and $1,000 plus a six month license suspension for any additional offense.
Under the two amendments adopted by the Senate in a close, 11 to 10 vote, fines have been lowered to $50/$100$/$250 respectively and the license suspension has been removed.
While the vote results were not unanimous, some think good will come out of this new law.
“Everyone is not going to be happy, but it will save lives,” said the bill’s sponsor, Sen. Shirley Breeden.
If signed by the governor, texting while driving would become illegal was of July 1, but only warnings would be issued until the beginning of 2012.
Source: Las Vegas Review Journal, June 4, 2011